Board of Commissioners

2018 Camden County Board of Commissioners

From Left: District 1 Commissioner Lannie Brant, District 4 Commissioner Gary Blount, District 3 Commissioner and Chair Jimmy Starline, District 2 Commissioner and Vice-Chair Chuck Clark, and District 5 Commissioner Ben Casey.

The Board of County Commissioners is comprised of five members elected through district elections for staggered, four-year terms.

The five-member Board elects the Chair and Vice-Chair of the County Commission each year. For 2018, the Chair is District 3 Commissioner, Jimmy Starline and the Vice-Chair is District 2 Commissioner, Chuck Clark.

The Board of Commissioners makes policies, adopts laws, sets budget limits, sets tax rates, etc. The Board appoints a County Administrator who is chosen by and responsible to the Board of County Commissioners.  The County Administrator oversees the day-to-day operations of the County, advises the Board, and implements Commission policy.

The Board of Commissioners usually meet on the first and third Tuesday of each month, exceptions are made and posted on the calendar.  Regular meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. in the Commission Chambers on the 2nd Floor of the Government Services Complex located at 200 East 4th Street in Woodbine. 

Special called meetings are held when necessary. All meetings are open to the public.

December 2018

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
  1. Mon, Dec 24 - Wed, Dec 26

    Christmas Holidays All county offices closed.
    Read More
  2. Tue, Jan 1

    New Year's Day All county offices closed.
    Read More
View All
Camden County Facts
  • Established: February 5, 1777
  • County Seat: Woodbine
  • Population: 50,513 (as of 2010 U.S. Census data)
  • Population Rank: 41st in state
  • Area: 613 square miles
  • Public Road Mileage: 302.96
  1. Camden County Employees Receive Recognition

    At last night’s meeting, the Camden County Board of Commissioners was pleased to acknowledge recent accomplishments from Deputy County Administrator Shawn Boatright and Emergency Management Agency (EMA) Director Charles (Chuck) White. Read on...
  2. Camden County Agencies Join Forces for Operation Safe Stop

    Camden County Emergency Management Agency, Camden County Schools, Camden County Sheriff’s Office, Kingsland Police Department, and St. Marys Police Department will join forces December 10 – 14, 2018, in conducting Operation Safe Stop. Read on...
  3. Camden County Seeking Applicants for Joint Development Authority Board of Directors

    The Camden County Board of Commissioners is seeking applicants to fill two (2) vacancies on the Joint Development Authority (JDA) Board of Directors as County representatives. Read on...
View All
Find Us on Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Georgia Camera Ready Community